top of page
  • Writer's pictureIan Macdonald

Rugged Smuggler Product Review

My first impression of Rugged Smuggler's product was very pleased based solely on the way they packaged the oils and balm. Then to add a little something they included a hand written note I cannot express how easily that will get me to want to buy from a company in the future, its something that takes little time but changes how someone views a company. When I opened their best seller "Snowmelt" I enjoyed the scent It was fresh clean with a strong minty smell and small amount of a citrusy smell. After applying it it smelt like taking a deep breath in a snow covered forest or when you're a sick child and your parents put vicks vapor rub on your chest. The oil itself hydrated my skin left no greasy residue and left my beard feeling clean and soft. The balm was great it hydrated my beard and gave great hold, it liquefied easily and was able to work into my beard to tame it for a while. My main complaint about the oil itself was I had to re apply after 4 hours as my skin did start to get itchy. I'm not sure if it was because I only used 4 drops or if possibly something with the oil. As much as I don't want to constantly re apply the oil it did give me a chance to also get that fragrance back so it wasn't all bad and luckily I had it with me so I did not have to go long to re apply. I was fortunate that Rugged smuggle also sent me their oil "Galley Citrus" that I will be giving a review in the next 2 weeks to test weather or not it was the amount I used or maybe the types of oils in it although based on the list of ingredients it seems to be of high quality oils. Lastly is the price a 1oz bottle costs $18 while a 1oz tin of balm will cost $14 so for the oil it is on the middle to high end of the price spectrum but the balm is on the low to medium end of the spectrum. Fragrance wise the oil would be a 9/10 I really cannot begin to describe how much I loved its unique smell. Oil wise I give it a 7/10 and hope that after I try "Galley Citrus" I will feel differently. Balm wise I feel that an 8/10 is appropriate it hydrated my beard and gave it a decent hold. If you would like to try "Snowmelt" for yourself or any of their other products please visit their etsy page at https://www.etsy.com/shop/RuggedSmuggler?ref=simple-shop-header-name&listing_id=638315390


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page